About Our Chapter

San Antonio, Texas, is a vibrant energy hub, home to several Fortune 500 companies including Valero Energy Corporation, Tesoro Corporation, NuStar Energy L.P., and CST Brands, Inc., but much of South Texas, between the city and the Rio Grande River, historically has been one of the nation’s poorest regions. Beginning in 2008, the area received an economic shot in the arm when technology opened up the Eagle Ford Shale, a roughly 50-mile-wide oil- and gas-producing site reaching about 400 miles from just north of Laredo to Brazos County, northeast of Austin.

With this expansion of energy in the community also came additional women in the industry with no means of networking. In 2013, however, two women joined forces to drive the opportunity for women to connect in their own community of South Texas. In April 2013, those two women, Janet Irwine and Paula Waggone-Aguilar, pulled together an amazing group of women to form the South Texas Chapter of the Women’s Energy Network. In just its first nine months, it had attracted 146 members.

The founding board members were:
  • Paula Waggoner-Aguilar, The Energy CFO, President
  • Monica Madrid Rose, ITSA Energy, President Elect
  • Janet Irwine, Tesoro Companies, Inc., Director Program Development
  • Nora Bryant, Burleson Law, Secretary
  • Siobhan Karger Mullen, Burleson Law, Director Membership Development
  • Jana Kennelly, UTSA, Director Community Initiatives
  • Lynnae Willett, BHP, Co-Director Marketing
  • Haley Curry, STEER, Co-Director Marketing
  • Brittany M. Weil, Burleson Law, Event Chair
  • Lisa Trefger, NuStar Energy, Treasurer