The Women’s Energy Network (WEN) is a global organization of professionals who work across the energy value chain. WEN’s vision is to be the premier global organization that educates, attracts, retains, and develops professionals working across the energy value chain. Our mission is to provide networking opportunities and foster the career and leadership development of women who work in the energy industries.

WEN was founded in 1994 by Karyl White with the purpose of fostering the development and advancement of women in energy by developing a strong network. After years of being the sole woman on energy transactions, Karyl believed that many women energy professionals were in the same position, but unable to connect with each other. Now almost 30 years later, WEN remains committed to providing high-caliber events and networking to its diverse membership from across the energy value chain. Today WEN offers educational, networking, and leadership opportunities to more than 7,000 professionals globally through networking events, conferences, community initiatives, social outings, and mentoring programs.

Throughout 2019, members of the Women’s Energy Network took advantage of opportunities to acknowledge and commemorate our association's 25 years of success, growth and progress toward empowering women in the energy industry. A special celebratory event, held September 24th of that year, drew several hundred women and men to Houston's stunning Hotel ZaZa Museum District and featured a video interview with WEN Founder Karyl White. Photos from this event can be found here.  

In 2024, WEN Global hosted a virtual event celebrating thirty years of WEN. 2024 WEN Global President, Gillian Flick, moderated this panel discussion featuring past presidents Andrea Tettleton (2023), Kara Byrne (2022), Tara Meek (2021), Erin Magee (2019), and WEN Founder Karyl White. Together, they shared insights, memories, and visions for the future, encapsulating the essence of WEN's journey.

The highlight of WEN's 30th Anniversary celebration was undoubtedly the Black and White Gala held at the Georgia Aquarium during the 2024 WEN Conference. The venue provided a stunning backdrop for an evening of elegance and camaraderie among WEN members. Photos from this event can be found here

About Our Founder


Karyl White is a retired energy attorney with more than 30 years of legal, executive and governmental affairs experience in the energy industry. Karyl retired from Phillips & Reiter, PLLC where she practiced mid and downstream energy and construction law. Prior to private practice, Karyl was General Counsel of Freeport LNG and CMS Marketing, Services and Trading Company, as well as Assistant General Counsel for MidCon Corp. While with MidCon, Karyl served as a Legislative Assistant for U.S. Senator Alan Dixon in Washington DC in the Congressional Assistant Program and was head of MidCon Corp’s D.C. office. Karyl graduated from the University of Chicago Law School and Bradley University, summa cum laude.

Karyl initiated and chaired the development of the first model natural gas sales/purchase agreement, which the Gas Industry Standards Board (now the North American Energy Standards Board) adopted as a standard in 1996, and which is still used, as amended, today for the majority of natural gas sales in the US. Her honors include: 

  • Inducted into the Greater Houston Women’s Chamber of Commerce Hall of Fame (2018).
  • Chosen as one of “Houston’s 50 Most Influential Women” by Houston Woman Magazine (June/July 2008)
  • Honored as one of the “Top 50 Women in Energy in the World” in 2002; only General Counsel so honored that year, by Commodities Now and Accenture.
  • Honored in 1995 by the Houston Chronicle as “Woman on the Move,” one of the top 10 business/community leaders in Houston.

Words could never express our gratitude, but we still say thank you, Karyl, for all of your work in leveraging women in energy!


Global Past Presidents

Jeannie Gardner

2016 & 2017 Global President

Rachel Miller

2018 Global President

Erin Magee

2019 Global President

Jana Grauberger

2020 Global President

Tara Meek

2021 Global President

Kara Byrne

2022 Global President

Andrea Tettleton

2023 Global President